Vishu Prayag


Vishnu Prayag or Krishna Prayag  is at a distance of 71 km from Nanda Prayaga. The five confluences are Vishnuprag, Nandaprayag, Karnaprayag, Rudraprayag and Devprayag in the decending order of flow sequence and their occurrence from Badarinath. Vishnu Prayag is 1st confluence from Badarinath and is at a distance of 75 km from Nanada Prayag. It is the confluence  of Alakananda River with Dhauli Ganga River. Alaknanda descending from the foot of a triangular lake Satopanth located at a height of 4402 mtrs above sea level. It named after the three hindu supreme gods Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva and Bhagirath Kharak glaciers near the Nanda Devi peak, It flow over a length of 229 km surrounding five prayags and joined at Dev Prayag by the Bhagirathi to form the main stream of the Ganges. 


It flows down south towards Rishikesh and Haridwar. There is no town but it is about 12 km from Joshimath town another famous Hindu religious centre. Likewise Nandaprayag, Pilgrims are advised to vist the confluence at Vishnuprayag and to proceed to Joshimath where pilgrims having accommodation facilities.